I.

Hello, world.

And by that I mean, “Hello, blog world.” I’m ellis. What what? I am destined to be a very bad blogger.

This will not be a photo blog, because I do not like to take pictures, and I certainly do not like to take pictures of my food. I will primarily be posting about food. However, this is not a ‘healthy living’ blog, nor is it a moving chronicle of my journey to better health or a lower weight. I have no advice for you, and should I slip and give some, it is in your best interest to ignore it.

Maybe somebody will find my photo-less blog amusing. But probably not.

Moving forward – as I much prefer it to moving backward. Today.

Breakfast today was my usual bowl of four weetabix and some rice milk. Four weetabix, you say? Q: Isn’t that a lot? A: No, it’s not.

I had to wait for it to warm up before going out for a run, because I cannot and will not run when it is below freezing. My pampered lungs will not stand for it. By the time it reached a toasty 33 degrees F, it was nearly eleven and so I had to have a pre-run snack: leftover polenta cut into cubes. Yes, plain. Also cold – I was in a hurry.

I tried a new running route today, venturing onto some roads that may or may not actually be public. Regardless, they took me through some pretty scenic farmland (sorry, no pictures) and I had a gay old time, until I heard some loud banging and saw many birds flying away. Gunshots, probably not, but at least a bad omen. I made it a grand total of two miles. And boy are my legs sore. I’ve run two days in a row, after several months of winter hibernation.

Lunch was ants on a log, artfully assembled. Three stalks of celery! Yet it did not keep me full until dinner (which has not arrived.) I was forced – absolutely forced – to have an afternoon snack of homemade granola and raisins.

This is what goes into my granola: 1/2 cup veg oil, 1/2 cup honey, 1/2 cup dried coconut, 1/4 cup chopped pistachios, 1/4 cup slivered almonds, 4 cups rolled oats, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp cardamom, 1/2 tsp almond extract.

Dinner is next on my agenda, since, as you can see, I do very little besides eat. I have some parsnips waiting to be mashed, two beets destined for roasting, and that’s as much as I’ve thought through thus far. Perhaps some dal. I have plenty of red lentils, and I can make it extra-spicy because my other half is at a dinner event which he is professionally obligated to attend, partners unwelcome. His absence is the reason for my dreadful lack of dinner planning, which is actually kind of refreshing for a change.

But tomorrow, tomorrow, will be a grand meal, which I will recount in some detail.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

