Home > Uncategorized > VIII.

VIII.

Today I was back to my “normal” running schedule – you know, two miles rather than five. I’m going to try for three tomorrow, but I was still a little tired from my adventurous run yesterday.

Speaking of normal, I had weetabix for breakfast – but with raspberries! – and then did not have oatmeal for lunch. How nice! Instead, I made myself a big bowl of pasta with roasted veg. I guess it should be “roasted veg with pasta,” actually, since I was down to the very last noodles in the cupboard. The veg consisted of red bell pepper, eggplant, and onion, and I threw together a quick tomato sauce with garlic, basil, capers, and red chili pepper. It was extra-good because I used tons of capers and chilis, which I usually have to skimp on because of my bland boyfriend. (Whom I love dearly.)

Dinner was delicious and full of vegetables, too. Quiche with leeks and potatoes and onions. I considered making a “crust” out of scalloped potatoes, but a. it seemed like too much work and b. I did after all have some sheets of perfectly good puff pastry dough in the refrigerator. I like my puff pastry soggy – in my hungry, growing teenage years, I’d sometimes just take a piece of the dough and microwave it, for a quick snack (I know, I know…) – so quiche is an ideal place for it, since I can skip the prebaking and just enjoy some nice mushy pastry underneath my organic free-range eggy stuff…and then lie to my boyfriend and claim I just “forgot” a step.

Shame on me, I know, but I’ve been stuck eating mild curries ever since I met my boyfriend, and I deserve some concessions, too!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

